Traffic Report No. 09

Posted: February 14, 2014 in Blogosphere, Blogroll, Debate, Idle Nonsense

I’m way overdue with my next blog but wanted to put up something quick. As usual, I’ve got more than a couple ideas percolating but no time to research and write them. Since the inception of this blog, I’ve gotten away from my self-imposed limit of 3-4 paragraphs and have grown prolix. Makes each post into an obstacle to be overcome. Perhaps I can rein myself in and got more done.

Some while back, my most-viewed post was Living Among Refuse. That has since been surpassed by Scheler’s Hierarchy, which now has over 4,500 hits. Curiously, most are from the Phillippines. No one coments, though, so as with most of my blog posts, there is scant to nonexistent discussion and dialogue. Active commentary is found at other blogs I frequent.

In the middle of last year, I began blogging at The Collapse of Industrial Civilization (see blogroll). The traffic and commentary there is quite robust, and frankly, I can’t keep up. I gave up reading, commenting, and guest-blogging at Nature Bats Last (see blogroll) for the same reason. Both blogs chronicle the ongoing collapse with no shortage of news articles about the demise of this or that species or ecosystem. I require no further convincing that we’re digging the pit of our own despair. (I stole that phrase, as I warned I would.) Awareness and individual response are both picking up intensity, with some flailing for solutions, others mining the emotional depths for profit or self-aggrandizement, and others so plainly gobsmacked trying to get their heads around it that hardly anything makes sense or indeed matters anymore. Corporate and government response is all theater as far as I can tell. I’ve got lots of content about all this in my blog backlog (backblog?) and at Collapse.

My two book blogging projects are still underway, with a final entry on The Master and His Emissary by Iain McGilchrist yet to be written (been waiting for months already) and additional progress through The Decline of the West by Otto Spengler already underway. As time allows, I will develop new posts on each.

Leave a Reply

