Death of a Skyscraper?

Posted: March 13, 2009 in Advertising, Idle Nonsense, Media, Skyscrapers, Tacky

The Chicago Tribune’s free daily news-in-brief publication, the RedEye, suckered me in today with a cover image of the Sears Tower in a cemetery with the simple epitaph R.I.P. and birth and death dates. (I’ve blogged repeatedly on the subject of skyscrapers.)

Sears Tower

Considering the state of the economy and my presumption of the diminishing interest among businesses in maintaining offices in one of the preeminent North American terror targets, I inferred the story was about the tower’s inability to operate profitably. I wondered what the building’s fate would be, if it would be dismantled or demolished. Instead, the story was actually about selling naming rights to Willis Group Holdings. So the Sears Tower will be renamed the Willis Tower, though few expect the new name to be adopted quickly or to stick.

In truth, the naming rights to buildings, arenas, stadia, etc. aren’t really very important. But I felt irritated at being punked by the press, even if it was relatively harmless. But this sort of misrepresentation (or ambiguous one, if one wishes to be charitable) only strengthens my resolve to ignore the RedEye in total and limit what attention I might give to the Chicago Tribune. Admittedly, I’m not part of the target market of either publication. I’m not hip, snarky, yet stupid enough to read the RedEye, and I’m not enough of a rabid consumer, political wonk, or business maven for the Trib to be of any use to me. Accordingly, my offended sensibilities matter not at all to the editors, and those publications can continue to fade to oblivion as their business models fail whilst they abandon the adherence to quality that once made at least the Trib a prestige publication.

Comments
  1. Lola says:

    “Hmmm, what paper should I read today? Let’s see…Wall Street Journal says something about the “just us” department and the Gua- Guantanamimo deto- detainees…um, never mind. Sun Times talks about tax exmemptions…no. Red Eye… OMG, VINCE VAUGHN’S PLACE IS FOR RENT! Oh and that big building downtown died. That’s so sad. I wonder when the funeral is. Shit, I broke a nail.”

Leave a Reply

